Pear and Apple Pie with Crumb Topping

IMG_1024Before I went grocery shopping this morning I took inventory of our fridge and found we had a bunch of pears and apples that were on the verge of going bad. I don’t know about you, but I hate eating apples with brown spots  in my lunch (I’m a snob, I guess) but I don’t mind cooking with them and I decided to make pear and apple pie. So first I scoured Pinterest for a recipe. And by scoured I mean I picked the first few that looked good/actually linked to the recipes. And then I decided that I didn’t really like the looks/sounds/ingredients in any of those recipes and I would make my own.

So I started out with following the “filling” part from one recipe with a few tweeks, and I went to dump it into the pie pan and holy-shhh… the filling part exploded all over my counter! There was enough filling to feed a small country for a year… or at least enough for two pies. So that’s what I did. My parents are re-doing their kitchen right now and so we ended up with a lot of their refrigerator clean out (“sweet, now we don’t have to buy groceries but wtf are we supposed to do with 14 cans of mango-raspberry chutney/pickled beets/weird stuff you find in your parent’s fridge”) which included 3 pie crusts so luckily I had extras on hand. The third one will become quiche later in the week.

So please note: this recipe yields two pies. Bring one to a friend’s house and don’t feel bad about sharing because you have one at home you can devour alone by yourself in your pajamas while binge-watching a TV show on Netflix. Or something like that.

Here’s what you need:

Filling:

Seriously-- so much filling. Perhaps I should have realized 8 cups was a lot of stuff to try to fit into a 9" pie crust... my mistake

Seriously– so much filling. Perhaps I should have realized 8 cups was a lot of stuff to try to fit into a 9″ pie crust… my mistake

  • 2 pie crusts
  • 6 cups peeled and chopped pears and apples (use whatever ratio you have in your fridge/you’d like)
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • Squirt of lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp butter

Topping:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg

Here’s what to do:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425
  2. Mix together fruit, brown sugar, granulated sugar and cinnamon in a large bowl (you’ll have 8.5+ cups of stuff when you get this all mixed together so grab a BIG bowl). Mix well.
  3. Squirt in lemon juice and continue mixing until all the fruit is evenly coated
  4. Dump the filling into the pie crusts
  5. Melt the butter in the microwave and drizzle on each pie
  6. Mix together the flour, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon and nutmeg in a medium bowl IMG_1022
  7. Melt the butter and mix in with the dry ingredients until the mixture is crumbly. I used a wooden spoon and hacked at the mixture– it worked pretty well. You might have a more refined way of doing this.
  8. Sprinkle the crumble mixture on top of each pie
  9. Bake for 20-25 minutes until the top is golden brown. I know it looks golden brown before being baked but it will look more golden brown after, I promise.
  10. Let cool before cutting

This would be a great recipe to bring to a friends-giving, or thanksgiving, or a solo party on the couch. Also, I think the oats in this along with the fruits qualifies it as breakfast food.

Leave a Reply

