Baked Brie

Oops! Here’s another recipe that I don’t have an “after” photo for– just the during one that I sent to Ben to show him that we had enough food for him to come home.

I made this recipe for a girls’ night in and it was a huge hit. By that I mean my friend and I ate almost all of it while we waited for everyone else to show up. This goes GREAT with $5 wine. I’m sure it goes well with more expensive wine too but we’re cheap.

Here’s what you need:

  • Brie (you buy it in a circular package covered in paper, usually)
  • 1 can crescent rolls
  • Chutney of some sort (I used Stonewall Kitchen’s cranberry apple)
  • 1 egg
  • Apples/crackers– I used honey crisp apples (3 apples, each cut into about 12 pieces, got us through the whole thing)

Here’s what you do:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400
  2. Open the crescent rolls carefully and roll out the entirety of the dough
  3. Unwrap the brie and place in the middle of the crescent dough. NOTE: apparently Brie has a white layer of stuff on it (this stuff turns out to be an edible mold). I tried at first to pick it off because I figured it was another layer of packaging and I was annoyed with how difficult it was to remove so I googled if you’re supposed to eat it. You are. Save yourself the time.
  4. Slather a few tablespoons of chutney onto the top of the brie
  5. Wrap the crescent dough around the brie/chutney. You can try to be artsy about this if you choose
  6. Whisk the egg and a bit (like 1tbsp) of water and brush onto the top of the brie
  7. Place in a pie pan (or whatever you’d like– my pie pan is just pretty and the perfect size to put apples around the brie when I take it out)
  8. Bake until crescent roll is golden brown (about 15-25 minutes)
  9. In the meantime, cut up apples into slices to serve with the brie
  10. Enjoy. Preferably with a glass of wine and good friends. Or by yourself– that’s fine too.

 

IMG_0974

Leave a Reply

