Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve had enough chocolate chip cookies in my life to know that they are really easy to eff up. My grandma, for instance, makes terrible cookies but I’m pretty sure that’s because she’s 92 and forgets ingredients on a regular basis so I suppose I should cut her some slack.

After a long day of studying for the boards (ie: misery) I wanted to bake something delicious. Usually, I can just sift through my baking supplies to find some sort of candy/spice/special add-in to center a recipe around so I assumed I would do the same when I got home. Well, I get home and all we have in our pantry are chocolate chips (and swedish fish– but baking with those would be disgusting). So I searched the internet for interesting recipes and all I could come up with was chocolate chip cookies.

Most of the recipes I found called for using a stand mixer which, if you’ve read my blog before, I’m pretty convinced come standard-issue with a wedding/engagement ring and otherwise you’re not allowed to have one. Well, since I’m living in sin with my BF and my cat I am sans mixer. SO… I decided to combine/adjust a few recipes to come up with one that is wooden-spoon friendly for those of us who are stand mixer free and slaves to stirring and mixing by hand. Here’s what I came up with:

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 2/3 cups all purpose flour 
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup melted butter/margarine
  • 3 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 small bag (12 oz) of chocolate chips

Here’s what to do (makes about 3.5 dozen normal size cookies or 2.5 dozen mondo Meg-size cookies):

  1. Put all the dry ingredients in a bowl
  2. Melt the butter and dump it in the same bowl as #1, add the eggs and vanilla
  3. Stir
  4. Add the chocolate chips
  5. Stir some more
  6. Stick in the fridge for a bit (I’d say anywhere from 15 minutes-36 hours. Really as long as you’re willing to wait)
  7. Bake at 350 for 10-14 minutes (I’d say start by setting your timer for 10 mins and working your way up from there)
  8. Enjoy!
  9. This step is optional: Forget your cookies at home on the counter when you meant to bring them in for your friends and eat them all yourself.
Chewy cookies-- nothing better

Chewy cookies– nothing better

If you are one of the lucky few that does have a stand mixer, you should put the wet ingredients and the sugars together in the mixing bowl, and slowly add the dry ingredients.

Leave a Reply

