Baby Blanket Bumblings

So I’ve been completely MIA the last few months. We have this very small, not important at all exam called the boards coming up in 2 weeks and 6 days (but who’s counting?) I just finished studying the microbiology section and I honestly might hurt someone if I have to answer another question about gram positive cocci or whatever the heck else they’re asking me. Soooo, I’ve decided to share the pattern for a baby blanket I made recently!

Two good friends of mine are having a baby! Yay! So of course I wanted to knit them a blanket. I spent hours scouring the internet for a pattern that looked intricate but was doable for a mid-level knitter like myself. I ended up modifying this one slightly and after a few mishaps (and having to undo ~20 rows because I realized I f-ed up and had my “right side”/”wrong side” mixed up.) Once the blanket was finished I used this tutorial to block it. This pattern really is adorable and is easy to knit (shh.. don’t tell my friends!)

You will need:

  • 3-4 skeins of yarn (preferably machine washable, remember that this will be burped/peed/pooed on and you want them to be able to clean in). I used this yarn in “Baby Pink Marl” which I thought was the perfect mix of bright-but-still-baby pink
  • US size 6 circular needs
  • The pattern: Heart Blanket Pattern. I went through the pattern 8 times. I wrote the pattern out so explicitly because I found it useful to take a pencil and mark off each time I finished a row so I could easily keep track of where I was.

Up close so you can see the detail. The change I made to the pattern in the link above was to add the 8 rows of knit above and below the heart pattern to square it off. I thought it made the hearts more pronounced. Doesn’t hurt that it is super easy to add length that way.

Here's the whole blanket right after it was blocked.

Here’s the whole blanket (upside down, I can’t figure out how to fix that…) right after it was blocked.

The final blanket, after being blocked, was about 40″ x 30″

Happy knitting! Let me know if you have questions about the pattern.

3 responses to “Baby Blanket Bumblings

  1. Have you ever blocked a piece by using e hand wash cycle in a washing machine? If yes, did u use the dryer to see what it would be like after it was washed and dried?

    Would the gift recipient of your blanket lay it flat to dry like your blocking method or use the dryer? If so, would it lose the shape that u once blocked?

    • You can wash it and dry it before to get any shrinking/wibbling out. I just blocked it myself and wrote on the note to use the gentle cycle/tumble dry on low heat for washing and drying. The blanket will likely lose its perfectly blocked shape a bit when you wash it but it shouldn’t be too bad as long as you let the blanket dry completely when you blocked it the first time. The edges will probably get a little more wavy than they are now, but it shouldn’t be a huge deal if you block it correctly the first time.

Leave a Reply

