Parched Peels

You can follow the same recipe with apple slices. I like how this slice looked like a smiley face 🙂

Who thinks that the best part of the apple is the skin? Well I think it is and that’s why I’m always sad to have to throw out the skins when I peel apples for a recipe. With so many apple recipes to make during the fall, it seems like a waste to get rid of the best part of so many apples. So while making apple butter (which was a disaster…) I decided to try something with the peels and it turned out well! I couldn’t find a good recipe I liked on the internet to copy so I made up my own. You can also use this recipe for baked apple slices

Here’s what you need: 

  • Apple peels or apple slices (try to keep them as bite sized as possible). I used about 8 apples worth of peels for this recipe or 3ish apples.
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg

Here’s what to do: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 450
  2. Put the peels in a bowl
  3. Melt the butter and pour it onto the peels
  4. Add the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and mix
  5. Spread the peels onto a cookie sheet
  6. Bake for 20 minutes or so, until the peels are stiff enough to hold their position if you push on them

Ready to be topped!

Topped and ready to be baked.

Baked

See how it’s rolled up and holding it shape? That’s how you know it’s done

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

