Tasty Tabouli

I used to live in a yuppier area of Boston where the only grocery store was Whole Foods and Ben and I got hooked on this tabouli salad they sold. Well, we moved to our current neighborhood and the local Shop & Stop has tabouli! However, since not as many people out here eat tabouli, it ends up sitting around for a bit too long and definitely wasn’t as good as the stuff we used to get, even though it was the same brand. So I decided to try to make my own version with quinoa (and a little couscous because I realized too late I didn’t have enough quinoa…) 
Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 cup chopped parsley 
  • 1 cup (uncooked) quinoa 
  • 3-5 (depending on how tomato-y you like your salad) seeded tomatos, chopped
    • If you don’t know how to seed a tomato fear not, I’ve provided instructions below. 
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • garlic (however much you want, depending on your taste) 
  • salt & pepper 
Now, cook your quinoa as instructed on the package. Let it cool for a bit before mixing it in with the parsley and tomatos. I let this sit in the fridge until I was ready to serve it and then added the lemon juice, olive oil, garlic and salt and pepper. I suggest serving it with wheat thins, but that’s just our personal favorite. Enjoy! 

Start by cutting your tomatoes into quarters (or eighths, or however you want to)
Take a spoon and scoop out the insides. 
It’s easy as that! Now you’re left with a seedless tomato you can dice and not worry about the seeds and juice soaking in to everything and making your recipe soggy. 
And mix it up!!

Like I mentioned earlier, I ran out of tabouli and had to use about 1/4 of a cup of couscous in my recipe, so feel free to experiment with your recipe. Technically, tabouli salad is made with bulgar wheat so I’ve already broken the rules. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

