Blueberry & Bran Breakfast

So I know it seems like I’m obsessed with healthy blueberry muffins, which is kind of true, I suppose. And the title of this is lying– they’re made with oats, not bran, but I like alliteration so cut me some slack. We’ve taken to making smoothies for breakfast every morning, which is nice with the magic bullet because we can make each of ours to our liking (apparently boys don’t like spinach, strawberry, greek yogurt, OJ, banana smoothies–who knew?) Lately, I’ve been getting a bit sick of just drinking my breakfast because I feel like I pee it out instantly and then I’m hungry again. So I want to supplement smoothies with something chewable that will keep me full for more than a few hours.  I combined a few recipes and came up with this one! These muffins look weird (again…) so if you’re part of some sort of judge-y muffin club don’t make them. For the rest of you who want healthy and filling breakfast treats but don’t care if your muffins are ugly, here’s a recipe for you to try!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
    • I don’t know what makes these old fashioned but make sure you get them. Quaker makes them, but if you look right next to the Quaker version in the grocery store you’ll be able to get the cheap kind– win! 
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil 
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour 
    • I didn’t know there was a difference either, so I looked it up. Apparently whole wheat flour has bran in it… 
  • 1 1/4 cups blueberries  (either fresh or frozen– I prefer frozen because they’re easier and you can put them in smoothies) 

Here’s what to do:

  1. Pre-heat the over to 400. Line a muffin tin (12 muffin holes) with those muffin cups. 
  2. Mix together the yogurt and oats in a small bowl 
  3. In a big bowl, mix together the egg, brown sugar and oil. 
  4. Then add in the cinnamon, baking soda and salt. 
  5. Once that’s mixed well, slowly stir in the flour(s). I did 1/3 of a cup at a time. However, after about 1 cup you can’t really mix it that well, so I opted to use a hand mixer very carefully. 
    • If you have one of those fancy KitchenAid mixers I’d use that. However, it seems like only married/engaged people have those nice mixers. I think it’s because nobody except for your parents/parents friends can afford them and you don’t get presents like that ’til you’re engaged. Let me know if I’m wrong– I’d love someone to disprove that theory. 
    • If you don’t own a hand mixer, go buy one. I’m the most novice baker in the world and I own one. It was $10 at Wal-Mart and well worth the investment. 
  6. Add in the blueberries and stir as best you can. They won’t mix nicely (apparently blueberries and oats don”t play together well) so just jam in blueberries if you need to when you’re spooning the mix into the tins.  
  7. Smoosh the mix into muffin tins. Bake for 18-23 minutes, depending on your oven. 
  8. Enjoy! 
Step 2– super clumpy, just like it should be. 
Like I said above, the mixture in step 5 might not mix together well so use a hand mixer. 
And if all your mix gets stuck to you mixer, just use a spoon to scrape it off.  
Before blueberries 
Step 6– see what I mean about them not mixing well?
Ready to go into the oven! 
All done!
Questions? Suggestions? Insight into unmarried/unengaged KitchenAid owners? Leave a comment! 
Leave a Reply

