Scrumptious Samoa Sweets

A friend of mine is moving and enlisted some of her friends to help. I wanted to make a yummy snack to be able to share and when I asked for ideas from other helpers, a friend sent me on a mission to find a good samoa/caramel delite recipe. I have never had these little treats before, apparently I’ve lived under a girl scout cookie rock for my whole life. However, I found a few good recipes online and tweaked them a bit to make them my own/easier because I can be lazy sometimes. Instead of making cookies, I decided on bars. Here’swhere most of my recipe came from.

Here’s what you’ll need for the bread/cookie part:
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup butter/margarine (1.5 sticks)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
For the chocolate on the bottom:
  • 4+ Hershey’s bars or a lot of chocolate chips

And for the topping:

  • 12oz of caramel candies (unwrapped, obviously)
    • I used Werther’s Originals Chewy Caramels
    • Please note: 1 bag=5.5oz so you need 3. You’ll have lots of leftovers in that last bag so make sure you hide them somewhere so your roommates don’t steal them.
  • 3 cups of flaked coconut
    • Again, note that 1 bag (at least where I shopped) is only about 2 cups… so make sure you get two or get a larger bag if that’s an option for you
    • Also note, coconut is a great topping on a smoothie so that’s a good way to use your extra. Just stick it in your freezer and use as desired
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
I’ll give you directions and below will include pictures with corresponding numbers and tips. Here’s what you do:
  1. Preheat the oven to 350
  2. Beat the butter and sugar together (I used a hand mixed, but that’s all I have). Once the butter/sugar mix is fluffy, add in the egg, salt and vanilla and keep beating.
  3. Slowly add in the flour. I did 1/2 cup at a time and it worked well. The dough will be crumbly, which is exactly what you want.
  4. Smoosh the dough into a greased (make sure you get the sides, too) 9″x13″ pan. Spread out the dough so it’s pretty even.
  5. Bake for about 20-25 minutes, until the edges are brown.
    • While that’s baking, get your Hershey’s bars/chocolate chips
  6. Once you take the cookie bit out of the oven, immediately put the chocolate on top. They will melt and then you should spread the chocolate over them. This will become the bottom of your bar. Stick in the fridge/freezer so that the chocolate can harden.
    • Once it’s hardened, cover a cookie sheet with wax paper and turn this pan upside down and whack the pan until the hardened cookie/chocolate concoction flops onto it. You want the blank cookie side up. See the pictures below if you’re confused.
  7. Spread the coconut on a cookie sheet covered in wax paper and bake at 300 for about 20 minutes
    • Stir/flip the coconut every 5 minutes or so
    • When the coconut is golden you’re done
  8. Put the unwrapped caramels into a microwave safe container (I used a 4 cup Pyrex measuring thing which worked great) and add the salt and milk. Microwave in 1 minute intervals, stirring in between
    • Spray your spoon with cooking spray so that the mixture doesn’t stick to it.
    • If you think the mixture is a good consistency STOP MICROWAVING IT. The recipe I was sort of following said to microwave for 4 minutes and after 2 minutes I thought mine was done but thought I should keep following the recipe. I ended up with caramel exploding all over my microwave. See the picture below and don’t make the same mistake
  9. Stir the coconut into the caramel mixture and pour over the cookie/chocolate bit from step 6.
  10. Let this cool then cut into pieces.
  11. Zap the chocolate in the microwave until it is a good consistency (I’d add a tbsp of butter/margarine to smooth it out) and pipe/smear onto your cookies.
    • I used a piping bag which ended up being a disaster: I was only able to pipe like 5 cookies before I got frustrated with how hard it was. You would probably be better off using a ziplock baggie with a corner cut off to pipe your chocolate.
    • Once I got frustrated I just spread chocolate on top. Doesn’t look as nice but it was a lot easier.
  12. Let everything cool and enjoy!
Step 2
Step 3: See how crumbly this is? This is just how you want it.
Step 6
Bullet in step 6. I just loosened up the edges with a knife and then whacked at the bottom of the pan until this came out.
Step 7: toasted coconut.
Step 8: 12oz of unwrapped caramels before adding milk/salt
Step 8 after the explosion. So remember: if you think it’s done stop microwaving it, regardless of what your recipe says.
Spread the caramel/coconut mixture on top (which used to be the bottom) of the cookie and let it cool.
Get your piping bag/ziplock baggie/spreader ready.
Piped to perfection… before my bag clogged.
You can see where I got fed up and decided to spread instead of pipe.
Good luck! Try not to let caramel explode all over your kitchen!
Leave a Reply

